Kemo Fry Invitational (Dalhousie) - Day 3 Results

Kemo Fry Invitational (Dalhousie) - Day 3 Results

(HALIFAX, N.S.) – The 2019 Kemp-Fry Invitational swim meet came to an end Sunday night with Dalhousie taking home the women's title and McGill the men's.

The evening session featured 18 finals, with McGill winning 11 of 18, while Dalhousie claimed victory in four and Acadia three. 

Daphné Danyluk won the first event of the session, touching in with a U SPORTS-qualifying time of 2:18.26 in the women's 200m butterfly. Acadia's Kelsea Vessey was second, followed by McGill's Erin Miller.

McGill also claimed victory in the men's 200m butterfly with Clement Secchi hitting the wall first with a nationals-qualifying time of 2:00.56. Dal's Alec Karlsen was hot on his heels, posting a U SPORTS-qualifying time of 2:01.81 to take second place. Alexandre Younes (McGill) was third.

Dal's Abbey Corish won the 50m breaststroke in a time of 33.29. Memorial's Polina Konstantinova touched in second, followed by Victoria MacDonald (Dal) in third.)

Tengbo Yu was the first to the wall in the men's 50m breaststroke with a U SPORTS-qualifying time of 28.55. Acadia's Gordon Shortt also punched his ticket to nationals in the event with his second-place finish. Dal's Evan Feick was third.

Isabel Sarty set another AUS record, this time in the 100m freestyle event. She was the first to the wall in a time of 55.26, breaking the record she set at least year's Kemp-Fry meet. Fellow Tiger Martine Nyhof was second, followed by UNB's Leah Smal. All three swimmers earned a trip to the national championships with their times.

It was McGill's Will Simpson who took the men's 100m freestyle race. MtA's Noah Mascoll-Gomes was right behind him in second. Both swimmers posted U SPORTS-qualifying times in the race. Dalhousie's Tyler Immel-Herron was third.

Acadia's Cali Bruce swam to victory in the 200m IM. Natalie Smart (Memorial) and Elizabeth Morrison (Acadia) placed second and third respectively.

Gordon Shortt followed his teammate's lead, winning the men's 200m IM with a U SPORTS-qualifying time of 2:02.61. McGill's Alexandre Younes was second, followed by Dalhousie's Alec Karlsen in third. Eric Pelletier won the B final of the event with a nationals-qualifying time of 2:02.94.

Daphné Danyluk won her second event of the evening, the 100m backstroke and was followed close behind by Dalhousie swimmers Martine Nyhof and Lise Cinq-Mars. All three posted U SPORTS-qualifying times in the race.

Acadia's Dean Sangster was the first to the wall in the men's 100m backstroke. He was followed by Dalhousie's Christian Payne in second. Both swimmers recorded nationals-qualifying times. McGill's Matthew Wittmann was third.

Victoria MacDonald swam to victory in the women's 200m breaststroke final. Acadia's Madison Murray was second followed by Memorial's Polina Konstantinova in third.

Eric Pelletier was the first to the wall in the men's 200m breaststroke. He posted a U SPORTS-qualifying time of 2:14.70 in the event. Andre Walcott (Acadia) and Evan Feick (Dalhousie) were second and third respectively.

Dalhousie's Lise Cinq-Mars and Veronica Hollick both posted U SPORTS-qualifying times in the women's 50m butterfly event, finishing first and second respectively. UNB's Leah Smal was third.

McGill swimmer Clement Secchi took first place honours in the men's 50m butterfly with a nationals-qualifying time of 23.94. Secchi's teammate Mathew Wittmann was second, followed by Acadia's Brett Liem.

Gabriella Doueihy (McGill) won the 400m freestyle event in a U SPORTS-qualifying time of 4:18.96. Dalhousie's Isabel Sarty and Claire Yurkovich were second and third respectively.

McGill's Johan Boscher won the final individual event of the meet, the 400m freestyle. Noah Mascoll-Gomes (MtA) and David Brenken (McGill) were second and third.

The McGill team of Daphné Danyluk, Kelsey Crocker, Grace Valihora and Nikki Van Noord won the women's 400m freestyle in a U SPORTS-qualifying time of 4:09.98Dalhousie was second, followed by UNB. The Tigers also posted a U SPORTS-qualifying time.

In the final race of the meet, the McGill team of Clement Secchi, William Hein, Kade Wist and Brandon Freiberger won the 400m medley relay. Acadia was second, followed by Dalhousie in third. Both McGill and Acadia posted U SPORTS-qualifying times.

Dalhousie will host the next AUS meet January 18 & 19, 2020

Final Team Standings


1. Dalhousie 883 

2. McGill 795 

3. Acadia 473 
4. Memorial 354 

5UNB 316 

6Mount Allison 160 



1. McGill 877.5 

2. Acadia 735 

3. Dalhousie 612.5 

4. Memorial 322 
5. UNB 214 

6. Mount Allison 130