Jakob Loucks named 2016 U Sport Rookie of the Year

Jakob Loucks named 2016 U Sport Rookie of the Year


Jakob Loucks has become the fifth Mount Allison player to capture the Peter Gorman Trophy for U Sports Rookie of the Year, following in the footsteps of linebacker Sébastien Roy (1999) and running backs Éric Lapointe (1995), Grant Keaney (1988) and John Hutchinson (1980. He is the first winner from the AUS conference since StFX linebacker Jeremy Steeves in 2001.

Originally from Cornwall, Ont., Loucks had big shoes to fill this fall following the graduation of four-year starter Brandon Leyh, a two-time AUS all-star. The 5-foot-10, 195-pound psychology student not only started all eight regular season games in his university debut - a rare feat for a freshman – he was also the only quarterback used by the Mounties in all but two contests. He helped Mount Allison to second place in the league standings with a 3-5 record.

Loucks was consistent at the helm of a young offensive unit and finished second in the Atlantic conference in most passing categories, completing 54.2 per cent of his passes for 1,325 yards, five touchdowns, and only seven interceptions in 225 attempts. He also proved a dual threat for opposing defences as he carried the ball 56 times for 404 yards and one major, finishing second in rushing yards among U Sports pivots behind Alberta’s Ben Kopczynski (443).

“Jakob had an outstanding rookie season and is very deserving of this award,” said first-year Mounties head coach Scott Brady. “He improved each and every week and is a true playmaker at the quarterback position - he consistently turns bad plays into great ones. His toughness is incredible and has quickly won him the respect of everyone in our program. He is a special player with a very bright future ahead of him.”

PETER GORMAN TROPHY (Rookie of the Year)

2016    Jakob Loucks, Mount Allison

2015    Mathieu Betts, Laval

2014    Hugo Richard, Laval

2013    Daniel Vandervoort, McMaster

2012    Shaquille Johnson, McGill

2011    Tyler Varga, Western Ontario

2010    Eric Dzwilewski, Calgary

2009    Linden Gaydosh, Calgary

2008    Jordan Verdone, Waterloo

2007    Liam Mahoney, Concordia

2006    Dalin Tollestrup, Calgary

2005    Martin Gagné, Montréal

2004    Kyle Williams, Bishop's

2003    Maxime Gagnier, Montréal

2002    Andy Fantuz, Western

2001    Jeremy Steeves, StFX

2000    Jean-Frédéric Tremblay, Laval

1999    Sébastien Roy, Mount Allison

1998    Kojo Aidoo, McMaster

1997    Paul Carty, StFX

1996    Jeff Johnson, York

1995    Éric Lapointe, Mount Allison

1994    Andre Arlain, StFX

1993    Jerome Pathon, Acadia

1992    Sean Reade, Western

1991    Dominic Zagari, Manitoba

1990    Bill Kubas, Wilfrid Laurier

1989    Chris Banton, Ottawa

1988    Grant Keaney, Mount Allison

1987    Dan Farthing, Saskatchewan

1986    Michael Soles, McGill

1985    Mark Brown, Carleton

1984    Jeff Funtasz, Alberta

1983    Paul Nastasiuk, Wilfrid Laurier

1982    Mike Fabilli, Ottawa

1981    Glenn Steele, UBC

1980    John Hutchinson, Mount Allison

1979    Joey Tynes, StFX

1978    John Lowe, Guelph

1977    Gord Goodwin, Calgary

1976    Jim Reid, Wilfrid Laurier